You are here


PhD Students


Behnam Ghassemiparvin

Behnam is a Ph.D. student at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He received a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering-Telecommunication from the University of Tabriz, Tabriz, Iran, in 2010 and a M.S. degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey, in 2012. He was a recipient of URSI Young Scientist Award in 2014. His research interest is millimeter-wave reconfigurable antennas, RF microsystems and electromagnetic theory.


Jiantong Li

Jiantong is a Ph.D. student at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering studying Millimeter-Wave Antenna Design. He graduated from Tianjin University, Tianjin Shi, China in 2012 with a B.S. degree in Electronic Science and Technology and a M.S. degree in Integrated Circuit Engineering in 2015. After graduation, he had an internship in a Chinese Medical Center for half a year.


Shangyi Chen

Shangyi is a Ph.D. student at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Her research focuses on the design of microbolometers using phase-change materials (PCM) for millimeter wave (mmW) imaging. She earned her B.S. degree from Huazhong University of Science and Technology in Wuhan, China in July 2014, and M.S. degree from University of Missouri-Columbia (MU) in May 2016. 


Ken Henderson

Kendrick received his B.S. of Electrical Engineering (2015), B.S. of Computer Engineering (2015), and M.S. of Electrical Engineering (2017) from the University of South Alabama. His previous research includes novel carbon fiber composite fabrication using aligned carbon nanofibers, thermal energy storage material, Frequency Selective Surfaces, and antenna design for LTE systems. Since beginning his research as an undergraduate, he has published several conference and journal papers. Currently, he is a Ph.D. student under Dr. Ghalichechian researching novel reconfigurable reflectarray antennas for millimeter wave applications. He is also funded by the Department of Defense SMART program.


Jordan Ramsey

Jordan is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. She received her B.S. in Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County, 2016.


Jack Eichenberger

Jack is a Ph.D. student at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He attended Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology in Terre Haute, Indiana where he got his B.S. in Electrical Engineering. Within electromagnetics his primary area of interest is antenna design.


Kyoung Ho Jeong

Kyoung Ho (Albert) is a Ph.D. student of RF Microsystems Laboratory in ESL at the Ohio State University. Kyoung Ho was born in Seoul, Repblic of Korea and he graduated from Chung-Ang University with a B.S. degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering in 2014. He is interested in manufacturing RF components, such as antennas and lenses. He is also experienced in using a full-wave simulation program, HFSS, in fabricating a lens using 3D-printer, and in measuring antennas and lenses at an anechoic chamber. His Ph.D. research is in “Suspended High-gain Millimeter wave Antenna Arrays: Hybrid Fabrication using MEMS and 3D-Printer Technologies.”


Mark Lust

Mark is a University Fellow Ph.D. student with the Electrical and Computer Engineering department as of Autumn 2018, and has been involved with the RF Microsystems group since January 2017. He graduated with his B.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Ohio State University in May 2018. He also received an internship with NASA Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, OH, taking place Summer 2018 and focusing on antenna arrays for space communication.

MS Students with Thesis


Kunchen Zhao

Zhao will get his B.S. degree in the summer of 2018. He has begun his M.S. thesis in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Ohio State University.


Carmen Matos

Undergraduate Researchers


Grant Senger
Grant is a Junior majoring in Electrical Engineering with a minor in Business. He is from Cleveland Ohio. He is working under Professor Ghalichechian helping to develop a 3D-printed slotted waveguide antenna.


Ersin Yetisir (PhD '15), SpaceX

Benjamin Lough (MSc '16), Texas Instruments

Scott Lunardini (BSc '16), General Electric Aviation 

Spandan Shah (BS '18), Capital One

Alejandro Johnson-Eusebio (MS with thesis '18), Northrop Grumman Electronics Systems